Saving and Restoring the Revision History (for blog entries, web pages and templates)
What is "Revision History"?
"Revision History" manages all past blog entry, web page and template updates. Information for each update, including the date, author, and edit details, are recorded and, when necessary, entries, web pages and templates can be restored from previous versions. "Revision History" makes site maintenance by multiple users very easy.
Revision History Set-Up
A separate Revision History can be set up for each website or blog. Revision History is enabled by default for all new websites and blogs.
- From the navigation, select either [website] or [blog].
- From the side menu, click on [General] under [Settings].
- Make sure the box next to "Enable Revision History" is checked.
- Select the number of updates to be saved in Revision History. Once this number has been reached, the oldest updates will be overwritten to make room for newer updates.
- Click on the [Save Changes] button to save.
If you want to disable Revision History, leave the "Enable Revision History" check box unchecked and then click the [Save Changes] button.
Saving Update Histories
Once the Revision History is enabled, all blog entry, web page and template update information, including contents, will be saved automatically. You can recall this information through the Revision History tool. Logs of all updates are also concurrently saved under "Change Note", making it easier to double check past entries, pages or templates if need be at a later date.
The following items are saved in the Revision History:
Entries and Pages
- Any manually entered information, such as the Title, Body and Excerpt.
- Any meta data, including Tags, Keywords, Categories and Folders.
- Settings information, such as if the entry or page is published, if entries or pages are saved as Unpublished (drafts), and if comments or track backs are allowed.
- Any Custom Fields.
Note that any items added on to blog entries or web pages will not be saved in the Revision History, and so cannot be restored.
- Template information
- Custom Field information
- Template settings
- Connected with history : "Output File", "Publish"
- Not connected with history: "Type of Template", "Link to Files"
Restoring Revision History Information
The "Status" widget is located in the upper right corner of the blog entry, web page or template editor screen. The widget is designed to display the following information for the contents (or template) being edited:
- Revision History : The Revision History for the contents being edited (includes the date and time the contents were last saved)
- The publication status (for blog entries and web pages only)
It is possible to restore data from any documents saved in the Revision History.
- Click on "View revisions" in the "Status" widget.
- From the Revision History list, select the name of the entry, page or template you wish to edit.
- The selected contents will be restored and displayed on the editor screen.
- Information for the restored contents will be displayed in the "update status" widget.
At this point, the restored data has not yet been saved or published. If you mistakenly restored the wrong entry, page or template, just go back to the Revision History list and re-select the correct data.
After restoration is complete, the restored data can be edited through the editor screen. Once finished, save as [Published] or [Unpublished (Draft)] and the current contents will overwrite the previously saved contents in Revision History.