Not a developer? Go to MovableType.com

Ask an Expert

Why is a deleted blog still accessible?

Asked by Emily
Posted October 23, 2013.

I created a blog as a college class project and want to delete it. Under manage blogs it says I have no blogs to manage but the URL still exists and can be searched. How do I get rid of it?

Back

1 Answer

Charlie Gorichanaz

Charlie Gorichanaz on October 25, 2013, 12:58 a.m. Reply

Hi Emily,

This is probably quite simple. Movable Type by default publishes static files (see Static and Dynamic Publishing Modes). Deleting a blog or entry within the administration interface only deletes from the database. Any existing static files on the server are left alone.

In order to prevent the public from accessing the published files, you will need to delete them manually from the server using an FTP program or a command line.

Once deleted, the pages may still be searchable on search engines for some time, until the crawler returns to your site and finds the page is no longer available. You can potentially speed this process by removing the page through Google Webmaster Tools.

Give an Answer

Charlie Gorichanaz

Charlie joined Six Apart as a Japan based product manager for Movable Type in February 2014 after spending two years as a developer for 601am. Previously he was the web director of The Badger Herald while studying biochemistry at the University of Wisconsin-Madison.

Website: http://votecharlie.com/
Twitter: @CNG

Ask An Expert